Review: The Passenger

26154406

Title: The Passenger

Author: Lisa Lutz

Expected release date: March 1st, 2016.

Rating: 4 stars

I heard about this book on GoodReads. To tell you the truth, most of the books I’ve been reading nowadays I found through that wonderful community, but in this case the power of the GoodReads need to be addressed because this is, as of the day this review is being written, a yet to be released book. Cool, isn’t it?

Let me start with what I had issues with – the book’s blurb. This is an example of how the book is described:

In case you were wondering, I didn’t do it. I didn’t have anything to do with Frank’s death. I don’t have an alibi, so you’ll have to take my word for it…

Forty-eight hours after leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya Dubois cashes in her credit cards, dyes her hair brown, demands a new name from a shadowy voice over the phone, and flees town. It’s not the first time.

This made me believe the main character – right now named Tanya – is some expert in changing identities, and she’s probably very sophisticated in her way of doing it. If you’ve ever seen the TNT TV show Leverage, you’d think she’s some Sophie-like persona.

Now the good:

It took me a little but I realized this is not the case. The main character is a hurt, haunted, and very down on her luck character. She is stuck in an impossible situation, desperately fighting for her freedom and survival.

She has assumed and will assume different names and personas, she will change so much she may not recognize herself in the end. She’s a Phoenix.

There’s something very moving about her journey. I couldn’t help but feel a kinship with her. She’s relatable even when she screws up (and gosh, does she screw up!).

The Passenger is a fun, fast, edge of your seat read. I highly recommend it.

***

Thank you NetGalley, Simon & Schuster and Lisa Lutz for sending me an ARC of the book in exchange for an honest review.

***

This review was also posted on GoodReads. Link here.

One thought on “Review: The Passenger

Leave a Reply

