Review: The Girl On The Train

girl on the train

Title: The Girl On The Train

Author: Paula Hawkins

Rating: 4 and half

I don’t remember how I learned about The Girl On The Train. I don’t know if someone mentioned it to me, if I read about it somewhere (EW.com most likely), or I just happened to stumble upon its description on Amazon. I wasn’t active on GoodReads at the time so it wasn’t there. All I know is that I bought it and I loved it.

I remember hearing that it was being compared to Gone Girl but that didn’t mean much to me. Is it a story about dysfunctional people with sociopath tendencies? Yes. Is it a story with a less than likable female protagonist? Yes. Is the narrator unreliable? Yes. Are there twists and turns? Again yes. None of these are new, though. We’ve seen these elements time and again in movies, books, plays etc.

What makes The Girl On The Train interesting for me is the writing, and the characters. Rachel is poster child for everything you shouldn’t do with your life after a break up, but that makes her human. She is a loser but she is also lost. She had her self esteem destroyed. I got to understand and like the character, and I found myself rooting for her, cringing every time she took a misstep, hoping she’d find her way back before it was too late.

There are lies and deceit, there are characters being deluded by appearances. There are false leads and tricks. Most importantly, this is a helluva ride, fast paced, thrilling book.

It’s also being made into a movie. I confess Emily Blunt is as far from what I imagine Rachel as possible. I’d love to see Drew Barrymore playing Rachel. I think she’d be wonderful.

But that’s just my humble opinion.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Girl On The Train

Leave a Reply

