Review: Night Film

night-film

Title: Night Film

Author: Marisha Pessl

Rating: 3 and half stars

I’m a little torn. I’m not sure how much I liked this one. My rating may change in the future, I don’t know.

Finally! It felt like an eternity, but I finally managed to finish this book. No, it wasn’t the book’s fault, but an annoying cold kept me stuck at 94% read for the whole week.

The book is uneven, I have to say. There are some great parts, and some weak ones. It was a few false endings, which for some reason reminded me of the CSI formula – find a solution, then one detail appears and everything changes.

Night Film is written and executed well enough, but it could use some trimming. There are a few scenes that have nothing to do with anything, add nothing, and one particular, was pure waste. It made no sense. I don’t know if the author was trying to add as many genres as possible into the book or what. *shrugs*

The five main characters were interesting. I wanted to kick Scott hard, slap him upside the head. I wanted to sit with Nora and talk and maybe become best friends. That’s always good.

***

Review originally posted on GoodReads. Link here. (I read the Brazilian Portuguese translation).